Death of an eReader

There is nothing I don't love about my iPad 3. Well, make that only one thing. And it isn't the iPad's fault. My eReader software no longer works.

This may have happened as far back as the iPad 2, but I skip generations on hardware so I wouldn't know.

When I reviewed eReader originally I noted that it was the most primitive of the eReader apps available, but it had one advantage. It developed from the original Palm Pilot PeanutPress software. That meant that every book we bought from Palm Pilot until the introduction of the iPad (when I switched to Kindle because eReader waited several months for release) could be read using one application.

One of the main reasons I bought my iPad was I liked traveling with my books, but really hated reading them on the small palm and iPhone screens. An app called Stanza let me access books through Fictionwise, but soon after the introduction of the eReader app, Fictionwise stepped allowing eReader books to be accessed.

Carol and I bought several hundred titles on eReader, but now that they no longer support the iPad, I'm stuck reading them on a iPhone.

I write this because I feel a company is obligated to support their installed user base as long as they're in business. eReader.com remains in business and their software works on most platforms. It can't be that hard with a company with their resources to at least support a minimal version of an eReader.

So please, eReader.com, let me travel with my books again. Don't restrict me to reading on my iPhone, even if it is a Retina display. Please support the customers who kept you afloat for all those years when people thought eBooks would never make it.

Jenny Manytoes rates eReader

Jenny says don't buy anymore books from ereader.com. If they stop supporting the iPad, who knows when they'll stop supporting your Mac or Android device?

The Jenny Manytoes Rating System


Jenny Manytoes, our polydactyl cat
  • When Jenny makes biscuits on a product she thinks she's in heaven.
  • When Jenny purrs over a product she's very happy.
  • When Jenny naps next to a product it's okay with her.
  • When Jenny bunches her tail she can live with a product, but she has higher expectations.
  • When Jenny leaves it in the litter box….I don't think I need to explain this one.
About Phillip T Stephens

Phillip T. Stephens disappeared into the Bermuda Triangle twenty years before he was born, creating a time travel paradox so confusing it remains unspoken between physicists and sci-fi writers to this day. Follow @stephens_pt
This entry was posted in Reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

