It’s Facebook. For iPad. Friend me.

Spoiler alert! Facebook for iPad is exactly what you would expect. It’s Facebook only on an iPad. How much do you want an iPad version of Facebook? That’s how many stars you should give this.


Personally, I don’t get Facebook. I never did. If I want people to find me I send them my email. I signed up because my family kept asking me when I was going to do Facebook but I never intended to do anything with it.

Now I get friends requests from people I don’t remember (if I really knew them at all), girls I never called back and creditors who finally figured out how to contact me. Some guy down the hall at college still tries to get me to an Amway meeting thirty years after we graduated. How great is that?

Carol, on the other hand, loves Facebook, and I would never question her taste or intelligence. And some of the juiciest gossip about Republicans and their foibles, not to mention some great cat cartoons, comes from her Facebook friends. And my sister’s Nathan alerts about the developing devious mind of her youngest son are kind of cool.

And it wouldn’t be half the fun without my son posting another comment about how Michael Vick is completely misunderstood, school kids need guns in the classrooms to defend themselves, and how his ex-wife is the most evil human being in the world. He’s wrong, of course, that would be my first (ex) wife. But she’s also Bryan’s mother so I have to backstep on that and say it probably is his ex-wife and that his mother was just doing me a favor so I could meet Carol.

So you shouldn’t be surprised at my ambivalence when reviewing the iPad version of Facebook. As an app it looks first rate. If it wasn’t Facebook, I would probably like it. What I don’t know is why anyone would want a new app with a new interface.

Except that I like that new interface. I think it’s probably better than Facebook’s browser app. Rather than opening to your wall and forcing you to navigate through URL links, you can slide the wall aside to reveal a graphic menu with access to your news feeds, messages, friends and events.

Close the menu and you can see which of your friends are online to chat. You can click on any friend and open the chat window.

The hidden menu provides access to all Facebook features. With the menu closed you can see who is logged in to chat.

You can also access your friends requests, messages and status from the top menu. The quick links let you browse in quick popup menus without leaving your current location. You can also check in with a click, or switch to a menu with your favorite links and videos.

You have quick access to your messages and notifications from the top menu.

Interface aside, the Facebook app is still Facebook. I could describe the app itself but anyone who doesn’t know what Facebook is by now deserves to have Herman Cain as President. They pay so little attention that they would probably believe that a 9 percent flat tax and 9 percent national sales tax would bring their relative rate down from the 10 or 11 percent most of us pay.

If you love Facebook you’ll like iPad’s Facebook. Whether or not you prefer it will be a matter of personal taste. I will use it as often as I did before, which is as little as possible.

Jenny Manytoes rates Facebook

Jenny Manytoes would make biscuits all over Facebook. If she used it. But cats don’t use Facebook. They would rather ignore each other until they need something.

The Jenny Manytoes Rating System

Jenny Manytoes, our polydactyl cat

  • When Jenny makes biscuits on a product she thinks she’s in heaven.
  • When Jenny purrs over a product she’s very happy.
  • When Jenny naps next to a product it’s okay with her.
  • When Jenny bunches her tail she can live with a product, but she has higher expectations.
  • When Jenny leaves it in the litter box….I don’t think I need to explain this one.
About Phillip T Stephens

Phillip T. Stephens disappeared into the Bermuda Triangle twenty years before he was born, creating a time travel paradox so confusing it remains unspoken between physicists and sci-fi writers to this day. Follow @stephens_pt
This entry was posted in 5 Stars - Biscuits, Interactive and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

